top of page
IMG_4733.jpg

ELF SCHOOL...A BRIEF HISTORY

Our origin story is unique. The historic school opened in 1928, burned in 1937, and was rebuilt. In the early 1940s, the Tennessee Valley Authority began construction on the dam that now forms Lake Chatuge, which would put most of the Elf community underwater, although not the school, which was renovated in the 1950s and served students until its closure in 1967. The building has since been occupied by various businesses including a sewing factory, gospel group bus parking, restaurant, and bed and breakfast. After a two year intensive renovation, The Elf School has been lovingly restored into a place of inspiration, creative passion and rest for artists from all over the United States.

 

Hear a unique perspective from the chief restoration mastermind and director of the school,

Rachel Watson in the short video below. 

FAQs

© 2024 The Elf School of the Arts

bottom of page